Fabric Dyeing With Shaving Cream

I saw this demonstrated at the Chicago quilt show yesterday and had to try it today. She was using ink, but I used craft store acrylic paint because I don’t have ink and it worked fine. It was messy, so make sure you have plastic on your work surface, you’re near a sink, and have lots of paper towels.

The one on the left is the first try and it came out the best. For the one on the right I used the same shaving cream, added a little more paint and swirled it some more, but it came out muddier than the first, but it’s still cool.

Here two more color combos which also came out muddier than the first one. I now know not to over swirl the paint. I used washed muslin for all four of these.

I had only cut four pieces of muslin, so I used a piece of Viva paper towel for this one. Viva paper towels are real thick and I use them as “drop cloths” when I paint and stamp and then save them to use in projects.

Rather than explain the process, I found this video on YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhBJiQjn3zA

He uses Tsukineko inks and a toothpick to swirl the ink. I followed this same process except I used craft store acrylic paint, a small paint brush handle to swirl the paint, and an old credit card as a scraper. Make sure you use shaving cream foam, not the gel.

My next project is rusting fabric with steel wool pads.

I had a great time at the quilt show yesterday. I split my time between looking at the quilts, taking classes at Make It University, and watching demonstrations in Open Studios. I don’t shop because I like to use recycled items and supplies I already have. I topped off the fun day with a stop at Trader Joe’s on the way home!

This entry was posted in art quilt, mixed media art, quilting, surface design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

