Creativity Block

The timing of my most recent creativity block is strange. It’s November … more time to work at my art desk instead of spending time outside (though it has been in the 70’s the last few days and I’ve enjoyed my time outside before the cold front moves through today and we’re back to the beginning of winter).

I do have ideas jotted down in my journal or in my head that I’ve been waiting to make, but when I sit at my desk I don’t know what to do or where to start. Maybe it’s not a block. Maybe it’s my perfectionist side not letting me let go and be free to create. Whatever it is, it’s very frustrating. I have an open day tomorrow, so I’m going to try again. Fill up the CD changer with Grateful Dead concerts, put on my sweats, and spend the day in the studio. It’ll be a perfect day for it with the forecast for cold and rain.

I had an idea to make a fabric “calendar” to hang on the wall with the goal of taking a digital photo every day and clipping it to the day. I thought the pictures would inspire me and give me future project ideas. I’ve wanted to start taking “artistic” photos for a long time and just haven’t done it. This project would force me to go outside (or inside) and find interesting things to photograph. Well, there you go. I have my project for tomorrow … make the fabric calendar! And get up from my computer right now and find something interesting to take a picture of.

This entry was posted in mixed media art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

