We Are Cups

Last week while talking on the phone with my friend, Lana, I came across this quote from http://www.guidepostsmag.com:

“We are cups, constantly and quietly being filled. The trick is knowing how to tip ourselves over and let the beautiful stuff out.” -Ray Bradbury

The quote touched us from a biblical standpoint during our conversation. I posted it on the bulletin board above my work desk and as I looked at it over the next few days, it also touched me as a struggling artist. I know I have artistic talent in me, but I have a very difficult time releasing it. I sit at my art desk just staring at my supplies … can’t figure out what to make, how to make it, what materials to use. I need to learn how to tip over and let the creativity out. Easier said than done.

With ten days left, I still haven’t started making the gifts I planned to make. I don’t know why I wait until December to decide to make gifts! I did get my shopping done over the weekend, so realistically I could make an effort to sit at my art desk on my day off Friday. I want to make the snowmen from this month’s Cloth, Paper, Scissors. I do have all the materials gathered, so it’s just a matter of taking the time to make them.

It warmed up over the weekend, rained and all the snow melted. A cold front moved through during the night and we have -13 wind chill today. Of course, Marley just loves it. I can only stand to be out for 5 minutes, long enough to get her to go potty, but she wants to stay outside. She laid down in the driveway and rolled in the little bit of snow we got last night. She has got to have some Husky in her! I had to bribe her in with the promise of a treat.

I guess I better get back to working on the blogs I get paid to maintain! Hopefully I can tip myself over on Friday, and I’ll have pictures of snowmen posted here on Friday or Saturday!

This entry was posted in mixed media art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

