Fabric Scrap Jackpot

I called my mother-in-law the other day asking if I could borrow her shoebox of sequins. She’s been cleaning out closets this winter and I asked if she had any miscellaneous sewing supplies she didn’t want any more. I figured she had a couple of shoeboxes of thread, buttons, zippers, snaps, etc. When I arrived at her house yesterday, she had the entire king-size bed in the guest room filled with the contents of her sewing/craft closet! Fabric scraps, needlepoint supplies, hooked rug supplies, felt, buttons, and yarn. She wanted it all out of the house. I filled my car to the brim and now the bed in my studio is full of all kinds of treasures I need to sort through. Where I’m going to store everything, I haven’t got a clue! What I don’t want I’ll donate to my quilt guild.

jackpot1 jackpot3

Included in the stash is a piece of orange silk fabric from India. Ned’s aunt and uncle were missionaries there for many years and had given the fabric to my mother-in-law in the 60’s. She made pants and a long tunic out of it which she still owns and I saw for the first time yesterday. It’s beautiful. The scrap of fabric is still stored in the box it came in along with a receipt.

jackpot4

I was awake half the night reeling with ideas for this fabric!! I can’t get distracted … I have to focus on my garden quilt for the quilt show. I do need to spend a little bit of time this week doing a quick sort of this stuff and store it away somewhere because it has taken over my studio space … but what a wonderful distraction to have!!

P.S. I just spent an hour quickly sorting all the stuff. I cracked up when I came across the 70’s section of the fabric scraps. My mother-in-law was surely stylin’ in those wild and colorful polyester clothes!! I put them all in the donate bag so the next person can get a good laugh, too!! I kept way too much. I’ll have to make another pass at it and keep a fat quarter or less of each fabric.

This entry was posted in mixed media art, quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabric Scrap Jackpot

  1. Lana says:

    Oh my gosh! I would be in heaven to get such a blessed windfall of material to work with. I can’t wait to see what you come up with – having already gotten whatever you might need for a new creation. Have fun!
    Love,
    Lana

  2. Mom says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CINDY!!!!
    Love your square. Sure wish I had your talent – I think it skipped a generation!! You are sure lucky to get all of that stuff from Lee.

    You read a poem you wrote about you and your Grandma Larson to me last week. I couldn’t find it on your Blog – could you e-mail it to me. I know that your Dad would love to read it.

    Keep up the good work and the progress reports on your Blog.

    All my love, Mom

Leave a Reply

