Garden Dreams Quilt Project #3

Square #3 done … 6 more to go … deadline April 30th … a little bit of anxiousness setting in! Lots of hand beading on this one. I was inspired by Frances Holliday Alford’s heavily beaded items and wanted to try it on at least one of my squares. Thought the sunflower would be good because it’s just a quarter of a flower. Good thing because it took forever, but I love how it turned out. The background was looking a little bland so took a couple of small round cookie cutters dipped in gold paint and stamped the purple fabric.

ghsquare2

I had originally planned to have this as the second square on the top row, but when I stuck it up on the design wall next to the first square, there was just too much purple and yellow together. So I’ve put the coneflower in between them. Here’s a picture of the first row.

ghquiltr1

I have lots of new music to inspire me in my studio the next few weeks. Phish is back and played 3 shows this weekend in Virginia. I’ve downloaded all three nights and all I can say is … THEY’RE BACK!!! Can’t wait to see them this summer.

This entry was posted in art quilt, mixed media art, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden Dreams Quilt Project #3

  1. Lana says:

    It’s gorgeous!!! Is this the one with part of a bracelet or piece of jewelry. It looks like it on the left third of the piece. I think it’s beautiful and the beading was well worth the time you spent.

    I painted another picture on Sunday! I haven’t done that for a while. I will take a picture and send it to you along with a picture of the wedding cake I delivered on Saturday.
    Love, Lana

  2. cindylarsen says:

    Thanks Lana! It’s part of a charm bracelet that I had in my jewelry stash, not one of my Grandma’s. I can’t wait to see your painting and cake.

Leave a Reply

