Folk Art Tree Coasters

Wow, I haven’t blogged since July? I’ve been in a long creative drought. All of a sudden the holidays are upon me and the things I wanted to make as gifts are probably not going to get done. I did get one set of coasters made for a friend’s gift. I wasn’t too excited about the project because I couldn’t embellish them with beads for obvious reasons, but thanks Lana for the suggestion to sew beads on the edges … duh I don’t know why I didn’t think of that!!

treecoasters

Last week I bought Lyric Kinard’s book, Art + Quilt: Design Principles and Creativity Exercises. I’m really excited to get into the book and do the exercises in it, but that means getting focused and managing my time better. Is that going to happen before the holidays? Probably not!

I do have another project I completed a couple of months ago but didn’t post on the blog. I used thin copper that you can sew through. The copper washers have an interesting story. Three years ago the boys and I had lunch with Ned at work and there was a small box of these washers sitting on his desk. Nate asked if we could have them to make earrings for his kindergarten teacher. The washers were rejects so we took them home and made cool earrings with them. I had a few left so put them on this piece.

copper1

Here’s hoping that it won’t be another four months before my next post, but just in case … Happy Thanksgiving!

This entry was posted in art quilt, mixed media art, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

