I’m Still Here!

Yes I’m still alive, just haven’t been doing any art because I can’t seem to get inspired.

Our guild’s 30th anniversary challenge squares are due next Thursday and I finished the last one I’m doing this morning. It’s a 6″ square and has to be made entirely out of recycled items and things already in your stash and depict the number 30.

I think it turned out pretty cute and I love how it’s dimensional. It’s hard to tell from the picture, but the bird is a “quilt” and is attached to the stick with pipe cleaner legs and not tacked down to the background fabric.

I glued a bunch of paper together to make the base of the nest and then glued on scraps of yarn. The “30” is on the paper tape measure the bird is about to add to her nest. The leaves have an interesting story. I have a shoebox full of different sizes of leaves on wires that I got when my mother-in-law gave me the contents of her craft/sewing closet. Ned’s grandfather did taxidermy and he used the leaves on his pieces.

This entry was posted in art quilt, mixed media art, quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Still Here!

  1. I think your quilt turned out wonderful! I love how the bird is actually a separate little quilt. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

