My First Finished Quilt!

What a great Labor Day for both me and my husband yesterday. He did what he loves to do … spend time in his man cave playing records and re-arranging his rock and roll memorabilia. I did what I love to do … listen to music and quilt.

I downloaded Phish’s three concerts from Denver over the weekend, hooked the laptop to the stereo, spent a couple of hours cleaning up my studio, and finished a quilt. This black and white quilt is the first pieced quilt I made, and it’s been sitting here waiting for the binding since May. It’s been a few months since I took the beginning quilt class and I couldn’t remember how to do the binding. YouTube to the rescue! I decided to use a decorate machine stitch to sew it on instead of hand stitching it. I think I like the hand stitching better, but I was determined to have a finished quilt at the end of the day.

It’s okay for my first one. I’m not happy with the quilting. I tried to quilt it in a straight-line grid about 2″ apart, but my lines are very wavy. I also had a hard time keeping straight while sewing the binding on. I think it’s time to invest in a walking foot for my machine.

I’m looking forward to curling up in my chair this winter under a quilt I actually made with a cup of green tea and the Sunday crossword puzzle!

This entry was posted in phish, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

