September Calendar Piece

I finished my piece for our guild calendar challenge. It’s 8″x10″ and represents September.

Every other sunflower pedal is fused to the background. The other pedals are three layers … fabric, felt, fabric … and just tacked under the centers so they are dimensional. The centers are beaded with gold and brown seed beads. I used silk leaves from the craft store and they’re just tacked under the pedals so they have some dimension also. I didn’t have enough of the background fabric to make a border, so I zigzagged around the edge.

I think it turned out cute, and I’m glad that project is done and will be turned in at tomorrow’s guild meeting.

I’m taking a free motion quilting class and need to get some practice in before the last class on Saturday. After that I’ll have no more deadlines and can get back to the pile of quilt tops that need to be finished. I also have a Christmas fabric charm pack to make a table topper for my kitchen table that I’d like to get done so I can use it this year, but you know how that goes!! Then there’s our guild’s quilt show coming up in May and I haven’t even begun to think about what to create for my entry. I won a blue ribbon in the art quilt category the last two shows and I’m putting pressure on myself to come up with something more grand. But right now I’m thinking about not entering anything and just enjoying the next few months improving my piecing and quilting skills.

This entry was posted in art quilt, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

