The Day After Christmas

I hope everyone had a blessed Christmas! We had a wonderful day with my husband’s family. My brother-in-law, sister-in-law and our two nephews hosted us at their house. We ate a lot of yummy food, opened gifts, played games, watched movies, talked and laughed. Ned, Marley, and I came home around 9:30 p.m. and even though we were tired, we turned on the stereo, listened to music, drank some wine, and talked until 12:30! We don’t remember the last time we’ve sat and talked for that long … probably when we were dating 20 years ago! I’d like to think that we will put aside our tiredness and stress of every day life and do that more often in 2013.

My brother and his family are coming on Friday night for the weekend. I had grand plans to get some things done today, like cleaning the second floor, but here I sit in my comfy chair wearing leggings, a big sweatshirt, and my new warm Christmas socks …

socksIt’s mid-afternoon and all I’ve accomplished is planning the menu for the weekend, making a grocery list, and transferring pictures from my camera to the laptop. I have two more days to get the cleaning done and grocery shop, so I’m not beating myself up for having a restful day!

I finished quilting this jelly roll quilt a couple of weeks ago and gave it to my sister-in-law for Christmas. She loved it!

stripquilt1aShe gave me this Moda Bake Shop kit. The strips are 1 1/2″ wide and the squares are 2 1/2″. It makes a cute little 26″x26″ quilt.

bakeshopI also received these two great books from my Mom and hubby.

booksHere’s Marley finally crashing after having fun playing with the two new toys she got. Our nephews got her a wacky looking purple bunny (seen in the background) and we got her a stuffed beaver squeaky toy which she has between her paws.

marchristmasHappy New Year!

This entry was posted in life, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

