I’m Just a Little Freaked Out

“I’m just a little freaked out” is a line from the song, Cities, by the Talking Heads and is playing over and over in my head. I wanted to take a few minutes to let you know why I haven’t posted in a while.

cross1Here’s a sneak peak of my modern quilt I’m making for our quilt show the first weekend in May. I finally got it basted yesterday.

kf1

I had planned to enter a second quilt made from these Kaffe Fassett fabrics, but that’s not going to happen. I chose a pattern that uses various sizes of strip sets that are then cut into different sizes and sewn into squares. Very time consuming.

Time is something that’s lacking in my life right now, hence the “I’m just a little freaked out” that’s stuck in my head!

Kitchen demo begins on April 19th. I’m excited, but have so much to do before then. I’ve made a decision on the cabinets and counters and am ordering them tomorrow. Still getting floor quotes and have to shop for all the other stuff … appliances, back splash tile, faucet, disposal, lights, etc. Oh, and my contractor wants me to paint in between demo and installation which falls the weekend before the quilt show. I haven’t even started to think about what color to paint. I’ve hung a white board in the kitchen to keep myself organized.

As I was telling my husband the other day about the several stores coming to measure and give quotes, I started to laugh. Since I work at home (and am nosy), I see the comings and goings at my neighbors’ houses. I hope they aren’t wondering why there are different men coming to my house every day!! It does pay to be nosy, though. I saw someone breaking into a neighbor’s house at 9:30 in the morning a few months ago and called the police.

Other than getting the quilting and binding done on the quilt for the show, I won’t be sewing until the kitchen is completed, so my next few posts will be about the remodel.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in life, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

