Successful Quilt Show

Our quilt show was this weekend and I’ve been busy this morning, as the Director of Social Media for the guild, writing blog posts, Facebook entries, and uploading videos to our YouTube channel. Now I have almost 300 pictures to resize and turn into a slideshow. It’s really a time consuming job to keep all of the social media sites updated, and I’ve recruited a small committee to start helping me this summer. If you’re interested in seeing pictures of the show, you can visit our website in a few days, www.sinnissippiquilters.org. A few pictures are up on our Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sinnissippi-Quilters-Inc/108741872478157.

As I was starting to resize the photos, I realized I never posted a picture of the quilt I made for the show. I entered it as a display. My piecing skills are not ready to be judged yet!

modern_cross1I really wanted to do a modern quilt instead of my usual art quilt this year. This is a pattern from “We Love Color”, Modern Cross by Kathy Mack. I chose my own colors and quilted it in vertical straight lines in a very light gray thread. It measures 45″x45″. I don’t love this quilt. I do like the bright colors and the quilting, but I don’t like that all the fabrics are solids.

I’m feeling the need to get out my art supplies and make an art quilt, but I have a throw quilt started using Kaffe Fassett fabrics that I want to finish first.

The kitchen remodel whirlwind has died down a bit while I wait four weeks for the counter tops. The cabinets are in and the old sink has been mounted to plywood and hooked up so no more washing dishes in the basement laundry sink … yeah!! I’m going to start moving stuff back in tonight. I’ll still be without stove, oven and dishwasher until the counters are installed, but at least I can get the microwave, toaster oven and hot plate out of the dining room and onto the lovely plywood counters! The new floor will be installed next Monday. Now that the messy part of the project is done, I can finally clean the house this week.

And it’s finally spring here and I’ve got perennials to transplant, annuals to buy and plant and pots to fill. Gee, I thought I’d be able to take a little rest after the quilt show, but noooooooooooooooo!!

This entry was posted in life, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Successful Quilt Show

  1. Pingback: Quilt Block Bonanza | The Tromp Queen

Leave a Reply

